What’s Funny

It’s time for my contribution to the AW Blog Chain. Over at Delirious, there was talk of Twilight followed by an interesting answer and question. Colby asked what book, tv, or movie had surprised us by its success. The answer on Delirious, Married With Children, followed by, “What’s funny about that?”

At first, I thought about how I could write the things I found funny about MWC. Then, I realized I can’t think of anything specific that would be funny to me in my current life. Sure, I enjoyed watching sometimes, but there is quite a bit that would tick me off if I tuned in now.

What’s funny is relative. Growing up, there were movies that made dad crack up while the rest of us rolled our eyes.  My brother likes many movies that I watch and simply shake my head at, praying that the funny parts are coming up.  On the recommendation of many friends, I bought “Superbad” when it came out.  After watching it, I gave it to my brother because it was better to give him a random gift than have it collect dust in our home.

The beautiful thing about living where we do is that we are all entitled to our own opinion of funny.

Next up in the chain is Life in Scribbletown.

Be sure to check out all of the blogs participating this month!

Spittin’ (out words) Like a Llama
Delirious
For the First Time
Life in Scribbletown
A Blog, I Has One
Peregrinas
SouthAsiaFair
the mommy writer
Return Engagement
Neither Here nor There
Polenth’s Quill
Emily Veinglory
Blog in a Suitcase

This entry was posted in AW Blog Chain. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to What’s Funny

  1. The first time I watched Superbad I couldn’t even get through the first twenty minutes…the second time it was hilarious. I guess it depends on what mood you’re in.

  2. freshhell says:

    I find scatalogical humor decidedly unfunny. Maybe because I’m not a 10 year old boy. Maybe its the LCD factor, I dunno. I’ve never seen Superbad, though.

  3. Razib Ahmed says:

    The funny thing is that I have not seen Superbad. However, I like Comedy movies.

  4. Polenth says:

    I’ve not seen ‘Superbad’ or ‘Married with Children’. But I laughed at the fishy escape plan in ‘Finding Nemo’.

  5. Pingback: What’s So Damn Funny? « Life in Scribbletown

  6. Sassee says:

    colbymarshall has a good point… funny does depend a lot on what kind of a mood you’re in when you watch (or read) said humorous things.

Leave a Reply

