Attraction

The first time I laid eyes on him, I wasn’t sure what to think.  This man had to be in his late thirties if not older.  He was about as far from what I pictured based on the little I had been told about him.  Certainly he wasn’t “my type”.  Tall, athletic, and BALD.  Yes, bald.

The interesting thing is that after talking to him a few times, I realized that I was looking forward to our meetings, trying to make sure I looked presentable.  I was the girl who never knew much or cared about make-up and  now I would sit in front of the mirror making sure that my make-up looked natural, my hair styled.  Suddenly, nothing in my wardrobe seemed right.  This was not a man who would be interested in someone who didn’t care about the way she looked.

What changed my mind wound up being one of the biggest things that I didn’t realize I was missing in my previous relationships.  Stimulating conversation.  Most of the time started by him, but if I had something to say, he would listen.  If I had a question, he had an answer without being cocky about it.

Last week, Shelly said to a mutual friend, “I can’t believe you thought I would EVER be interested in him,” after our friend tried to set them up.  For a brief moment, I started to doubt what I was feeling.  Then I realized that I don’t give a damn that some other girl isn’t attracted to him.  If she didn’t take the time to dig a little deeper and see what a great man he is, that’s her loss.

If and when I’m on the free market again, I hope I remember how good it feels to have a conversation and put that higher on my list.

This entry was posted in Creativity, Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Attraction

  1. bethiswfg says:

    Sometimes digging deeper brings immeasurable results….I thought something similar when I was falling in love with my husband. He’s not someone every girl would fall in love with, but he’s just right for me. 🙂

  2. Stacie says:

    I too love good conversation!

Leave a Reply

