A is for Accomplishment!

I really hope she doesn’t mind, but I’ve loved reading Beth’s alphabet themed posts.  Since half of the time I find myself trying to figure out what in the heck I want to write about, I’m going to steal borrow her idea and start my own alphabet.  And if I find out that it is an original idea that belongs to her, I will stop.

Since today is the first day, we’ll start at the very beginning.  The first word that popped into my head was accomplishment.  This morning, I woke up and rather than get ticked off about everything that didn’t get done this week I decided to see what I could get done without killing myself trying to get everything done.

For about six years now, I’ve been a huge fan of Flylady and her ways of cleaning.   The trick is to know that you can do anything for 15 minutes and that it’s okay if everything isn’t done.  Rather than work yourself ragged to get everything done right now, you take it slow.  And when you “fall off the wagon” you just drag yourself back up without getting down on yourself for everything that fell apart.

Using this method, I have managed to clean the living room, catch up on most of my dishes, and I have two loads of laundry done.  Most Sundays, I get up, get upset that everything isn’t done, work myself silly for an hour and spend the rest of the day mad at myself, mad at Rick for not helping, and mad at Khaila for not picking up her toys.  Even better than the sense of accomplishment is the sense of peace that I’m feeling at getting a good start to my day.  Now, I think it’s time to sit down with my coffee and suffer through watch Shrek the Third yet again with Khaila.  This afternoon, once the remaining dishes are done and another load of laundry is in the dryer, I think we’ll head up to Madison for some much needed family time.

This entry was posted in Finding Heather, Life in General, Mommyhood. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A is for Accomplishment!

  1. bethiswfg says:

    Alphabetize away! 😉 It’s definitely an easy way to focus on what to write each day! Just don’t focus on food like I have! lol…I get so hungry when I write my blog posts now!

    Isn’t it amazing how just a shift in mental attitude can make all the difference in how your day is going? And I find it crazy how the state of my house reflects the state of my mental health so often. yay for flylady!

Leave a Reply

