D is for Dolls

No, I don’t mean the type that my daughter is in love with. I’m talking about grown men who play with dolls. In particular, today is dedicated to Jeff Dunham and Terry Fator. For Christmas 2006, my brother and sister-in-law gave me Jeff Dunham’s Arguing With Myself. At first I thought it was a lousy gift. I hate to put that in print but I admit that I was sure it was going to be awful. Now, I’m only allowed to watch when I’m with someone because parts of it get me laughing so hard that I can’t breathe! Here’s a clip of Jeff Dunham for those who haven’t heard of him.

About a week ago, my mother-in-law sent Rick a clip of Terry Fator, a ventriloquist who was on America’s Got Talent. This man certainly does have talent! One of the clips I watched is below. He is a ventriloquist who does impressions of singers. My jaw hit the floor the first time he got up on stage you could tell that the judges weren’t thrilled to see another ventriloquist who thought he was the best thing since sliced bread. Terry Fator just might be!

Amazing!

This entry was posted in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to D is for Dolls

  1. My family made me sit down to watch Jeff Dunham one night.

    “What is he?” I asked.

    “A ventriloquist,” they said.

    “I’ll read,” I said.

    And they watched it and I read and after a while I started peaking and listening and soon I had the book down and was laughing along with them.

    We now have both his DVDs, Arguing with Myself and Spark of Insanity.

    I don’t know anything about the other guy. I appreciate impressionists, but they need some humor, too. Just singing like Garth Brooks (who I’ve never heard) doesn’t do much for me. Although his impression of Roy Orbison was OK. Still, I appreciate humor more than someone doing singing impressions. I think his ventriliquist impressionist singing act isn’t going to get him far.

  2. heatheraynne says:

    I think that I was most impressed with from Terry Fator is that you often find someone who does impressions, you don’t find quality ventriloquists as often, and to find someone who can do both well is definitely hard to find. Would I go see him at a live performance? Probably not, unless there was more humor, as you said. But it’s still dang impressive to watch as a way to pass some time on a bitterly cold day in Wisconsin!

Leave a Reply

