Getting healthy

Last night, I was watching The Biggest Loser: Couples and the girl who was voted off said something that struck a chord with me.  She said she was always going to start a diet on Monday but Monday never came.  I’m much the same way.  I’ll get it in my head that on Monday I’ll do whatever it is I want to do or stop doing what I want to stop only Monday becomes next Monday.  Why wait until Monday?  Why not start NOW?

Today, I went to the store and stocked up on healthy treats and I’ve been searching different forums online for weight loss ideas.  Not so much a diet, but more of changing habits to live healthier.  I don’t want Khaila to think that it’s okay to be obese.  Yes, I want to show her that no matter how you look on the outside it doesn’t change the inside.  I want her to be confident with her body image.  At the same time, I want her to be healthy.  And yes, I’m a little scared of her being the “fat kid” like I was and if I can instill good habits now to save that pain later, I’m going to!

I weighed myself tonight and I was shocked at the number!  The last time I got on a scale was a few months ago and I could have cried when I saw 245!  Today, without really paying attention to what I’ve been eating, without working out, I’m down to 220!  I attribute that to actually eating MORE and not putting my body into starvation mode as well as getting back to work in a more physically demanding position.  I’m looking forward to the success of seeing a one as the first number on that scale, hopefully in about 10 weeks!

This entry was posted in Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting healthy

  1. Billie says:

    Good for you for starting right away! I never did understand the ‘waiting till Monday’. My husband has always been like that. He’s tried to explain his reasoning behind it, I just don’t get it. Good luck!

  2. Okay, so here is the philosophy side, maybe it is too deep, perhaps I have thought too much about it but here goes:

    The deciding isn’t the hard part because we make the decision – do it and it is done. The hard part comes when we stall and keep ourseves in limbo because we don’t want to decide. The hard part is the agony we put ourselves through, the negative self talk, the “deciding to decide” to do something.

    Celebrate you and that you are on the right path. Congratulations and keep it up. I know from personal experience that it is rewarding.

    Best
    -Kaki

Leave a comment