L is for Like

This month, many people are thinking of another L word.  I truly wonder how many of us have the Love in our life but don’t have Like in our life.  Too many times I hear things like, “I love them but I don’t like them” in reference to family.  Over the course of the past year, that’s been true in my own life.  I loved my husband, he’s the father of my child.  At the same time, I didn’t like him very much.

Luckily, he and I have been working on our communication and I can say that I kinda like this guy!  Yes, there are still things that annoy me to no end, but now that we’re both putting effort into things, I like him!

Last night, we went on a date, our first real date where we got dressed up and went out.  Sure, we’ve gone out to eat, we’ve gone to movies, but this was a conscious effort by both of us to look nice and spend time with each other.  It felt grown up, it was good.  We went to dinner and for the first time in a couple of years, neither of us complained about the food or the service.  A large part of that is thanks to Julie, our server, for being prompt, attentive, and sweet as she was in high school.  Another part of that was picking a good place to eat.  I think the third thing was that we were both in a positive mood and therefore we didn’t look for things to go wrong.

After that, we hit the movies.  I have a buddy whose wife gets tons of free movie passes and he can’t sit through a movie right now due to a broken back so he gave a few to me.  We caught National Treasure 2, not as good as the first but not horrible.

The best part of the night was actually when we got home.  (Dad, you can keep reading, it’s a  G-rated blog)  He gave me a kiss on the forehead and told me to go to bed.  He wasn’t tired yet but knew that I was tired and had to get up this morning so he tucked me in, rubbed my back, and left me alone.

Do you think Hallmark makes “I Like You” cards for Valentines Day?

This entry was posted in Finding Heather, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

