T is for Transcription

It’s been nearly a year since I left my stable job at an insurance company for the instability of becoming a work at home mom. Many were sure that I wouldn’t be able to make any money, that any work from home transcription was a scam, and that we would wind up in the poor house.  We didn’t wind up broke and living on the street, and I would like to think that if not for my husband losing his job, I would have been able to continue.

I’m hoping that over the summer I can reduce my hours at the pizza place and increase my transcription business.  I enjoy being able to spend the days with Khaila and the nights in my office.  I would like to find some of my own clients but I’m tired of dealing with lowball offers on freelance sites, scams on Craigslist, and scouring for leads when I could be working.  I need to figure out how to better organize my time so I know that I will devote a specific amount of time to tracking down business, other times I will dedicate myself to transcription, and the times when I’m scheduled to be mommy, the office is closed.

I’m not sure how it will pan out, but I know that my boss can’t afford two of us full-time during the slow season and I would rather not sit in  sweltering building baking pizzas in a 500 degree oven all day.  I would rather be free to take my girl to the pool and swimming lessons than be stuck at work wishing I was doing those things.

One more thing that I thought I had failed at that I now realize I just needed to step back from and re-analyze.  I’m damned good at what I do.  I enjoy it.  I just need to have the strength to say no so I don’t stretch myself so thin.

This entry was posted in Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to T is for Transcription

  1. Jen says:

    What kind of transcription do you do?

    I currently do medical and psychological transcription for an office that does Social Security exams on a (mostly) full-time basis. If that’s what you do or what you’d like to do, perhaps sending a letter of introduction plus a brochure describing your service(s) and your rates to local doctors’ offices (I would avoid the hospitals, since they usually have their own transcriptionists – many doctors do too, but someone always needs help it seems). If you’re comfortable with legal terminology, do the same to lawyers’ offices.

  2. Serena says:

    I did medical transcription from home for a year and a half. There are a lot of scams out there, but as you know, it’s a legitimate field. It is nice to have your own office rather than work in someone else’s or in less-than-ideal conditions. I wish you the best!

Leave a Reply

