W is for Waiting Patiently

Today, I opened the blinds and let the sun shine in.  Our apartment is on the upper floor so I’m spared from anyone looking in and seeing the clutter that is our home.  I could also imagine that the snow had left and it was a truly gorgeous day.

Every winter I get to the point where I’m ready for it to be over.  The snow that was pristine and refreshing in November and December is replaced by piles of frozen ice grayed by exhaust.  The cold that relieved us from the sweltering heat of summer is just plain cold now.  The only good thing to come from the end of winter is less anxiety when driving on snow covered roads.

As I sat there, I realized that I’ve allowed myself to become so wrapped up in life that I no longer notice the gradual thawing and melting.  The thought I had was, “I can’t wait until the day I’m driving to work and realize it’s spring.”  It seems a bit odd that I can remember the feeling of driving down Highway 14 and essentially waking up to the fact that spring is here.

I think I’m succeeding in trying to take time to be more observant.  I saw a birdie on Khaila’s window sill this morning.  Unfortunately, he flew away before I could show K the feathered friend singing good morning to her.  I also saw that one local farmer has already assembled and placed his irrigation rig at the edge of town.  Surely that’s a sign that spring is coming!

The state boys’ basketball tournament is this weekend.  Hopefully, if we’re going to get one last punch in the gut from mother nature it will happen on schedule and we can move on to the next season, road construction!

This entry was posted in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

