Oh, the irony

This morning, I posted about the Ultimate Blog Party hosted by 5 Minutes for Mom.  I giggled about the name of their site and went on my way.  By “my way” I mean I grabbed my coffee.  Got to drink two sips before I had a toddler saying she wanted coffee (she calls her morning milk her coffee).  Get up to grab one sippy cup of coffee so she can watch Dragon Tales.  Sit down to read more blogs.  “Mommy, want Care Bears.”  Get up, explain to her that the Care Bears are sleeping and Dragon Tales are awake.  Sit down to enjoy the lukewarm cup of coffee.

“Mommy, I’m stinky.”  Get up, change diaper, get toddler dressed.  Getting her out of her favorite nightgown and into day clothes is my morning workout.  Get her settled in for Sesame Street, put coffee in microwave, jump in the shower.  Within mere moments, “Peekaboo!”  I have a toddler who wants to shower with me.  Since she had a bath last night AND was already dressed, I told her I’d be out in a minute, go watch Elmo.  I finish my shower at a rate that would impress most military recruits, get out of the shower only to find that A) my daughter is half naked since her socks and pants are on the toilet and B) my husband grabbed the last towel.  Ask Khaila to get me a towel and after standing there drip-drying for a few minutes, I run, still wet, to the bedroom with no heat and find that she listened for the first time this morning and was watching Elmo.

FIVE minutes for mommy??  Some days I’d settle for TWO!

This entry was posted in Mommyhood, Ultimate Blog Party. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh, the irony

  1. Aloha from Hawaii! Too funny, I can totally relate, many days I would take just ONE minute. Especially in the bathroom!

Leave a Reply

