The Purse Doesn’t Lie

For a long time, I’ve said that I’m not a “girly girl”. I think that probably comes from the fact that I feel completely inadequate in the areas of makeup, clothes, shoes, and hair. I’ve thought about the possibility of a girly girl being locked somewhere deep inside of me but quickly dismissed those thoughts.

Today, I found my purse. Yes, I had to find my purse. This is another area where I’m apparently not up to par with the average American woman. Rather than having multiple purses to suit my needs, I have one very casual all purpose bag. According to a report on Good Morning America last week, the average American female has ten purses.

Back to the truth-telling purse.

I’ve realized by the contents of my purse that there truly is a girl locked deep inside my tomboy self. I opened the purse, cleaned out the old receipts, papers, an empty gum pack, a half-eaten sucker, and was somewhat surprised with the remaining contents. Right now, my purse contains mascara, lipstick, lip gloss, my contacts case, two different body sprays, and four lotion bottles, in addition to the necessary pens, wallet, Tylenol, Aleve, cell phone, and mints. Truth be told, I didn’t even realize I owned some of those things!

I really do want to find a bit more feminine self. I know that I like the way I feel when I do my makeup and hair. For the first time in probably a decade, I have earrings. I bought some studs and hoops before Christmas and my brother and sister-in-law bought me four pair for Christmas. I took my birthday and Christmas money and bought a flat iron. It looked good when my hair was shorter, hopefully it’ll look good when my hair is longer, but right now I’m at that awkward in-between stage. Maybe I’ll start there and find my way to putting together outfits. If not, I may be the first person to nominate themselves for “What Not To Wear”.

This entry was posted in Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Purse Doesn’t Lie

  1. Hey, thanks for finding my blog!

    I read your post below, and I sure do understand what you mean about PBS! My daughter loves Elmo, and she loves it when we sing the “La la la la…” song!

    I found that funny that most women own 10 purses, when I myself haven’t used one since I’ve had a diaper bag…sigh!

    Anyway, it’s great to meet you and I’ll be back soon!

  2. Mada says:

    That’s why I couldn’t find my purse! Who needs a purse when we have diaper bags??? I found my purse because it’s getting warmer and I won’t have coat pockets to stuff when I go to work.

Leave a Reply

