“I’ll start that _____”

Once again, I found myself saying that I would start something on a certain date rather than just doing it. The last time, I wanted to start a diet but it was mid-week. At first, I said I would start on Monday and then I realized that Monday never comes. Monday becomes “next week”, then “the first of the month”, then “No, I mean it, next Monday” and nothing is accomplished.

Since my last attempt at NaNo didn’t turn out so well due to life interrupting, I planned to start on 4/1. NaNo is a month long challenge to write 50,000 words in a month.  Why do I have to start on 4/1?  Why can’t I start on 3/30 and set a deadline of 4/28?

It seems to me that our society likes things neat and tidy.  Most of the time, you start a new job, a diet, or any new routine on Monday or the first of the month.  Are you waiting to do something?  Why not start today?

This entry was posted in Creativity, Finding Heather, Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “I’ll start that _____”

  1. Steve Davis says:

    Ah procrastination….like you I need to start today, if not it seems not to get done. Delay is my enemy.

    Steve

Leave a Reply

