Shrek is Taking Over the Music!

There once was a time when I could drive down the road, peacefully listening to the radio, and NOT have my head filled with the image of frogs in mourning.  Now, “Live and Let Die” is no longer a Paul McCartney song, it’s a song sung by the lead frog at the king’s funeral.

And it doesn’t stop there!  “Barracuda” is no longer Heart, it’s Snow White preparing to go into psycho-fighter mode.  “Livin’ La Vida Loca” no longer conjures up images of Ricky Martin dancing on stage, it’s Donkey and Puss singing Karaoke.  “Accidentally In Love” is the theme song of honeymooning ogres, hardly what I think Counting Crows had in store.  I could go on and on, but I think you see my point.

One by one, Dreamworks is forever changing the associations we form with songs.  They have an entertaining way of making them fit in the movies, so I can’t complain about that.  I just hope the Shrek series ends before they run out of songs!

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

