Marrying the Boss

Romeo and Juliet meets “The Apprentice” is how Megan Kelly describes her first book on the homepage of her website. Ms. Kelly’s debut, “Marrying the Boss”,  features Leanne Fairbanks and Mark Collins competing for the CEO position left vacant by the death of Lionel Collins. Both have their reasons to fight to the bitter end for the title, but they’re faced with feelings much deeper than a career.

The beginning of the book confused me a bit. In the first few pages, I found myself having to reference back to figure out who was who. Once I got that straightened out, it was smooth sailing. Ms. Kelly did a remarkable job of keeping readers on their toes, wondering who was going to win and whether the battle would destroy their chances of romance.

I make no secret of the fact that any book referencing Wisconsin tends to hold a special place in my heart, and “Marrying the Boss” was no exception. I couldn’t help but laugh as I read the words, “Her beaming smile felt warmer than the Wisconsin sun.” as I looked out the window on a cold and gloomy day. And I knew it had to be a Saturday when they visited my state as she referenced missing the fish boil the night before. The only thing is, it’s not a fish boil, it’s a fish fry! Not to worry, that’s one of those things that I think only a Wisconsinite would notice!

I look forward to Megan Kelly’s next release, “The Fake Fiancee”, due out in July! If her debut novel was wonderfully told, I think we can expect great things to come!

This entry was posted in Book Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

