AW Blog Chain – New Beginnings

It’s time for the April Blog Chain brought to you by the members of AW! It’s been an interesting month, weaving from beginnings of novels, fitness, and most recently, Fantastical Imagination and Life In Scribbletown have talked about allergies.

I have to admit, I’m one of the lucky ones who doesn’t suffer from allergies.  I did for three years I spent away from my native land.  No, I didn’t move out of the country for that period of time, I moved to Nebraska.  I’m still not quite sure whether it was simply vegetation I wasn’t accustomed to or if I was allergic to the state itself, either is feasible.  Now, I’m back in Wisconsin’s “dairy air” and life is well again.

Nebraska wasn’t a planned move.  I was young, recently divorced, and it was time to start over.  My then-boyfriend (now husband) took me to Nebraska for Christmas the first year we were together.  When it was time to go, his mom got upset, and somehow that led to us moving out there.  Less than four years later, we came to Wisconsin for a visit, I got upset when it was time to go home, and we wound up moving back.

I’d like to think all that moving wasn’t for nothing.  In that time, I learned many things and grew as a person.  Being from a small town, I dreamed of the day when I would be an adult and move away.  Once I moved, I found myself homesick.  Not only did I miss my family, I missed Wisconsin.

I’m lucky to be from a beautiful state.  We have hills and trees, winding roads you can take for a Sunday drive through the countryside.  Nebraska was flat and I’m pretty sure they have a law against curvy roads.  Every road in the country seemed to form neat one mile squares.  The upside was that you knew how far to the next intersection and it was easy to figure out how many more excruciating miles until you arrived.  I once had a job on the north side of Madison, and from my house in Oregon it was 35 miles.  Those were 35 glorious miles, even with Beltline traffic.  In Nebraska, it was 25 miles from our house to my sister-in-law’s.  I don’t understand how a drive that is 10 miles shorter could feel 100 miles longer.

Many times during that first winter, I would hear, “Wisconsin, eh?  Heard it gets cold up there.”  The truth is, I never felt colder than my winters in Nebraska.  We have these things called trees that break the wind.  How does the state that is home to the Arbor Day Foundation and thrives on agriculture not have tree lines to break the winds?  And then they wonder why they have dust storms that roll on for miles, making the middle of the day dark and treacherous!

I’d like to think that my move away and my subsequent move home gave me a serious of new beginnings.  First, I was able to move away and see what the world was like (yes, Nebraska may not have been the best choice for that).  More importantly, I had a second new beginning when I moved home.  The minor annoyances of living in the same area you grew up are now pleasantries that put a smile on my face.  I now understand the value of having your family close to you.  More importantly, it removed the “what-if” factor.  I don’t have to wonder if the grass is greener somewhere else.  Right here in my little town, the grass is made plenty green by having my family with me.

Next up in the chain is Polyamory From the Inside Out.

While you’re cruising the blogosphere, be sure to check out all of this month’s participants!

Auria Cortes

Polenth’s Quill

Unfocused Me

Spittin’ (out words) Like a Llama

Food History

Fantastical Imagination

Life In Scribbletown

For The First Time

Polyamory From the Inside Out

Livininsanity

Spynotes

A Wayward Journey

Virtual Wordsmith

This entry was posted in AW Blog Chain, Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to AW Blog Chain – New Beginnings

  1. freshhell says:

    “The minor annoyances of living in the same area you grew up are now pleasantries that put a smile on my face.” Yes, very true. I’ve lived in or close to the city in which I grew up. I run into people I went to elementary school with quite often and while there are times I wished I’d left, usually, it’s nice to feel like I belong somewhere. Even if that somewhere isn’t the most glamourous place on the planet.

  2. Karen says:

    I will say that most everyone I have met from Nebraska has been gorgeous. They have a good gene pool over there, that’s for sure.

  3. Pingback: Spring Allergies « Fantastical Imagination

  4. Donna says:

    I’m still aiming for a move to California. I can’t stand winter and I’m just not all that fond of Connecticut, even though my family is here. I want warmth.

  5. Mada says:

    Donna, I used to think I wanted to get away from the winters here in Wisconsin. Now, I don’t think I could live without the seasons. I like having four distinct times of the year. I see it as a time for rejuvenation. And if nothing else, the end of winter brings a sense of accomplishment for making it through another crummy, icy, cold, snowy, gray season.

  6. Pingback: Next up in the Blog Chain! « Polyamory from the Inside Out

  7. Auria Cortes says:

    “The minor annoyances of living in the same area you grew up are now pleasantries that put a smile on my face.”

    Ha! I bought the house I grew up in. I gutted the place so I wouldn’t feel that awkward. It’s looks completely different. So I now feel likes the house is mine. And not, “my parent’s old house.”

  8. My husband and I recently moved back to the hometown we grew up in, and I have to say it was one of the best decisions we ever made. Now we can see our families if we want to, but we at the end of the day we can go home and sleep in our own bed. Thank God for small blessings.

  9. Polenth says:

    I don’t have a burning desire to move, but I know I’ll have to one day. I don’t mind moving around so much, as long as it’s a place with nature. I wouldn’t cope in a big city.

  10. Pingback: Can’t even focus on a coffee cup « spynotes

  11. Mary Lewis says:

    Going somewhere else to see if the grass really is greener can sometimes make you grateful for the shade of green you already knew.

Leave a Reply

