Another Step to Becoming Healthy

Today was my first day without soda.  I’m not experiencing too many withdrawal symptoms other than a killer headache.  I know that’s to be expected, but dang, this hurts!  ALOT!

I know there will be many benefits to not drinking soda.  I’m feeling one of them already.  I’m not nearly as sluggish as I am after a day spent drinking nothing but sugary, caffeinated, zero-nutrient gook.  It’s funny how something we drink to keep us awake can have such an adverse effect on how we feel.  Seriously, I feel pretty good besides the headache that kept me in the dark most of this evening.

Another benefit, I’m taking part of the money I would spend on soda and I joined the local gym.  It’s not nearly as expensive as some others, you don’t have to sign a one or two year contract, and I can go when it’s convenient for me.  That was essential since Rick is working longer hours and I have to have someone to watch Khaila.  I signed up this afternoon, came home to whine about my pain, and after Khaila was in bed and the Excedrin kicked in, I went back down to check it out a bit more.

There were two people there when I got there, a husband and wife.  This is very important to someone who has over 50 pounds to lose and is going into a gym for the first time.  Once I don’t feel as awkward and out of place, it’ll be easier to go in when it’s busy.  The machines were easy to figure out, although I think the computer was wrong, it said I achieved “superior” level for the fitness test.  I was worried about getting bored since I forgot my mp3 player, but they have several television sets mounted to the wall.

If you’re an Evansville reader and you haven’t checked out Evansville Health Club, I encourage you to do so!  Justin was very friendly on the phone this morning, was great in person, and I’m sure my “official” orientation tomorrow afternoon will be informative.

This entry was posted in Battling the Bulge. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Another Step to Becoming Healthy

  1. I too need to get off the soda kick. I have a severe Mountain Dew addiction that seems to get worse as time goes on. The first step is admitting I have a problem…and I do!

  2. Karen says:

    Hey, I go (can go, used to go, need to go again) in the daytimes, while the kids are in school. If that’s convenient for you, give me a call and we can go together, or in the same time span. I try to go when it’s less busy as well for the same reasons.

  3. Mada says:

    I’d love to have a workout buddy, but I have to go either at night or before Khaila wakes up (which will never happen). I work every day from 10 until either 4 or 8.

Leave a Reply

