The Beginning of an Interesting Week

Last Monday, my boss called me.  There are going to be some changes at one of the locations of the company I work for.  I was a bit flattered when he talked to me before deciding what he wanted to do.  He needed to know he had someone competent to take over and turn on location around.  We met at that location, talked a bit, he showed me around, and told me it could be a few weeks before anything changed.

Last night, I called to get my schedule for the week.  Apparently the changes have come and I will be transferring after today.  Because I know how much work there is to be done, my head started racing as soon as I found out, causing me to lose some sleep.  I’m actually not looking forward to going in today, no one else knew of the plan for me to move.  My co-manager wasn’t terribly happy last night as he told me that I’m at the other store most of the week.  We have a tight knit group, especially during the day, and there’s part of me that feels like I’m abandoning them.

Along with this surprise move, I’m sure I’ll be meeting with the owner sometime today to iron out the details.  I’ll have to work late at least a few days a week, so I’ll also have to rush to find rides for Khaila.  It’s times like this that I’m glad I live near so much family!  Rick is already out the door to work and is planning on being at work until after sundown.

For the first time, a job I’ve had off and on for almost a decade has much uncertainty.  Part of the appeal to returning after leaving was that nothing ever changed.  That’s no longer true and I have to admit, it’s a bit scary!

This entry was posted in Life in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

