Coming Back From an Injury

I’ve posted about how great I felt when I was active. About a week and a half ago, I started to have pain in my lower back. This wasn’t caused by over exercising, it is the combination of being a mom and cleaning the house. I hadn’t been to the gym for a few days before and haven’t been since. Once the back resolved, I came down with a nasty cold and had trouble breathing at rest, so getting my heartrate up was out of the question.

Today, I’m feeling human but worn out. Just as I noticed an increase in my energy level after I started exercising, I’ve noticed a decline since I’ve been more sedentary. I look forward to getting back to the gym tonight after the hubby gets home.

I had been hoping to participate in my first 5K by the end of the summer. By going to the gym late at night when no one else was around, I found the courage to try jogging instead of walking. This is no small feat for someone who is overweight, but I did it. It felt great! I’m not going to be doing any running for a while, but I am definitely going to work on building up to it again. I can almost feel the satisfaction I know I will feel when I do it, and I’m going to use that to motivate me.

It’s easy to view a setback as a failure. It’s only a true failure if you fail to get back to doing the work required to achieve your goal.

This entry was posted in Battling the Bulge. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Coming Back From an Injury

  1. stamperdad says:

    Just do what I do. Don’t clean the house. LOL Seriously, I get sore after a vacuuming session. Lots of time when we do household chores, we fail to stretch first and use muscles not used when we exercise.

    Best
    Steve

  2. I don’t belive in “failure,” it is a self-imposed definition of self. Not in my vocabulary.

  3. Good for you! It’s amazing how much stamina one’s body builds over time…you’ll be running around like a cheetah before you know it 😉

  4. Great job on taking it one step at a time – that’s all you can do!! Just keep at it, and you’ll build up your endurance and stamina in no time.

  5. Elrena says:

    Wow, 5K! Good luck to you, I’m sure you can do it with such a good attitude. Way to go!

Leave a Reply

