What Happens When Life Interferes

It’s been a long month.  I feel as though I haven’t had the time or energy to sit at the computer at all.  My email checking has turned into scanning for anything important and deleting the rest.  I feel bad that I haven’t read the messages from my groups, but it can’t be helped.  Here are just a few consequences of allowing life (aka, the job) to interfere with my routine:

1. I’ve gained five pounds.  I haven’t been getting to the gym because when I’m not working, I’m either taking care of the family or falling into my bed.  I still fit in my “skinny” jeans, but they most definitely are not comfortable right now.  The good news is I went this morning.  Hopefully I will remember how I feel right now and keep it up.

2.  I lost my writing assignment.  I know my next assignment is due June 11th, but I’ll be damned if I know where the previous assignment is, marked up and waiting for my revisions.  I really need to find that!

3.  I had to hit the “more posts” on most of my favorite blogs.  This is another pastime that I’ve ignored.  I have many blogs I’m addicted to and I feel like I’ve been missing out.  Luckily, I had some kid-free time this morning and I caught up on a few.

These are just a few things that I’ve allowed to fall apart since accepting the manager’s position at my work.  I feel much like I did after K was born, when I felt like I was letting Heather slip away and K’s mom and Rick’s wife were becoming my entire identity.  I feel fortunate that I have been there before and realize the warning signs.  It is much easier to reclaim my life after a month than it is after six months or a year!

This entry was posted in Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What Happens When Life Interferes

  1. stamperdad says:

    Funny isn’t it how life does that to you. I too find it hard to make time with the little ones and work, but usually can use my lunch hour to work some writing in and after the kids go to bed. Takes discipline sometimes.

    Steve

  2. Recognisable says:

    Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Recognisable!!

Leave a Reply

