Direction

Many times, I come across message board posts asking how to decide what direction they should take with their blog.  For some, the answer is obvious.  They are blogging to promote their books, trying to develop an online presence, or have a specific message in mind when they start.

For me, my direction has been all over the place.  I’ve written what I thought people would want to read, I’ve written whatever comes to mind knowing it only really mattered to me, and some of the things I’ve written had a specific purpose.  The problem was that my blog never felt the way I wanted it to feel.  I don’t want to only blog about the cute and funny things peanut does.  I don’t want to be a whiny blogger who only talks about how crappy her own life is.  At the same time, I didn’t feel that I had anything to contribute in one specific direction.

Tonight, as I drove home, it hit me that I enjoy blogging about family.  I’m not an expert in motherhood, but I can blog about what I’m going through as the mom to a 3 year old.  I’m not an expert child (dad, hold back the laughter), but we’ve all made it through the first 30 years with relatively few problems.  Lord knows I’m not an excellent wife, but I have worked to make my marriage work even when I thought it was hopeless, only to realize that when we work together, my husband is a pretty good guy!

One thing that helped me realize that there is some good done on these pages was looking at my search hits.  Divorce comes up daily in some way or another.  Well, I know a bit about that.  I became a “child of divorce” eleven years ago today.  I was divorced from my first husband in 2001, at the age of 24.  Searches related to toddlers come up quite a bit.  Siblings is another search that brings people here.

It’s nice to realize what’s been in front of me for a long time now.  I do have something to say.

This entry was posted in Creativity, Finding Heather, Random Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Direction

  1. ravenlea says:

    I don’t comment much, but had to say congrats for figuring it out 🙂 And here I was worried you were shutting down. I can relate to the not being an expert in motherhood, but it sure makes life fun! Looking forward to more posts.

    raven

  2. Mada says:

    Thanks!

  3. grumps says:

    #1 Write what you know

    #2 Write what you love

    #3 Write something every day

Leave a Reply

