What’s in a Name?

This is what happens when I do housework.  I have time to think about random crap.

Today’s question:  What’s in a name?  More specifically, how do you address your in-laws and how did you come to that decision?

When I was dating, and later married to, my ex-husband, his parents were Jim and Mary Jo.  Now, my in-laws are Mom and John.  I wouldn’t dare to call John dad since Rick doesn’t, his dad passed away in 1999.

Growing up, my mom called my grandparents Mom and Dad (I think) but my aunt called them Bud and Shirley.  My brother and sister-in-law both call their in-laws by first name.  There are definitely more people I know who call their in-laws by first name, but I also know a few others who refer to them by mom and dad.

In my experience, it has depended on how close I am to my significant other’s parents.  My ex’s mom and I were friendly but not terribly close.  It would have seemed awkward to call her mom.  On the other hand, my husband’s mother and I were extremely close during the years we lived in Nebraska.  It was natural for me to call her mom and I still do today.

I’d love to hear from others on this random thought!

This entry was posted in Random Ramblings and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What’s in a Name?

  1. stamperdad says:

    I think you gotta go with your feelings. If you feel comfortable with Mom or Dad why not.

    Steve

  2. angela says:

    I use first names–always have. I guess I don’t feel close enough to call them Mom and Dad.

    My hubby’s grandpa tho, now that’s a good story. He’s the type of guy who likes to try and get a rise out of you to see what you’re made of. When I first met him in my early 20’s, he told me that he thought that everyone under the age of 30 should call him, “Mr. Ackerman.” I smiled and told him, “Well I guess I’ll call you Fernie, then.” (his first name). We’ve been fast friends ever since.

  3. emilypage says:

    I am so close to my parents that I would never feel comfortable calling anyone else “mom” or “dad”. I call my in-laws by their first name or the names that my children gave them (Nana and PopPop).

  4. I call my inlaws by their first names…I think it’s always been like that. I don’t think it has ever occurred to me to do otherwise, mostly because I’m just not close enough to them to consider it.

  5. danielle says:

    Technically, they’re not inlaws yet, but I call his mom “Mama Clara” and his step-dad “George.” When my BF was growing up, all of his friends called his mom some variation of that, so it seems a good compromise. He’s always called his step-dad by his first name, so I do, too.

Leave a Reply

