Growing Up

About a week ago, I logged into Facebook for the first time in almost a year.  Since then, I’ve reconnected with some old friends, found some interesting groups, and become addicted to Mob Wars and Flair.  As much fun as all of that is, I’ve had one painful experience while on Facebook.

I realized it’s been 13 years since I graduated from high school.  There are people I graduated with who have done so much with their lives, and here I sit, desperate to figure out what I want to be when I grow up.  Every time I think I’ve figured it out, something changes my mind.

I wish I could figure this out.  Looking at classmates’ profiles, I realize it’s time to grow up.  I’m not saying I have to or even want to have a prestigious title or gobs of money.  I just want to be an adult.  I want to have a career.  I want to know that I’m doing something that matters.

I still want to write.  I still want to go back to school.  I’m leaning towards marketing but have to admit that culinary arts has been calling lately.  My big problem is I want to go to school and come out with a degree I’ll use.  Culinary Arts would be great, but I’m not going to spend that money to be a line cook somewhere.  Marketing is something I love to do but I worry that an Associates won’t be enough to land me a good job.

School starts in just over a month.  I know that I really want to be in a classroom this September.  Now I need to figure out which class!

This entry was posted in Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Growing Up

  1. Alexis says:

    Good luck with your decision. I think we all struggle at times with what we want to do when we “grow up”. Hang in there!

Leave a Reply

