Back to School – Majors

Over the summer, I have been looking into going back to school.  It’s something I’ve wanted to do for quite some time but always found a reason to wait.  In just over a month, I will be a college freshman.  13 years after leaving high school, I will begin the next step in my life.

I’ve flip-flopped quite a bit on what I want to be when I grow up.  I enjoy marketing and think I would do well at it.  I briefly toyed with the thought of web programming, but I’m not sure that’s something I’m cut out to do for the rest of my life.  I did a career assessment profile, and over 20 of the top matches based on my skills and interests involved teaching.  I have thought about counseling off and on throughout my adult life.

The truth is, I’m 30 and while I know what road I’m traveling now, I don’t know where it will lead.  For that reason, I am focusing on my general studies first and I will see what interests me when I’m in class.  I am going to do some informational interviewing with people in the fields I’m interested in, and would love to job-shadow if possible.  All of these will help me make the right decision for myself.

As much as Facebook kicked me in the pants to go back to school by allowing me to see what some of my classmates have done, it’s also shown me the importance of finding a major that interests me.  For every person who has established a successful career in their field there is another who is doing nothing related to their degree.  I’ve talked to a couple of those who aren’t making use of their education, and they have all said it’s because they thought they wanted to do something and went for that without realizing it wasn’t for them.

Hopefully by the time I complete 30 credits and apply for transfer to UW-Madison I will have some idea.  For now, my focus is on keeping my GPA high enough to secure my transfer and to be eligible for one of two honor societies on campus.

This entry was posted in College with a family, Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Back to School – Majors

  1. Alexis says:

    Good luck at the next road in your life.

  2. stamperdad says:

    Heather all the best in your new endeavor. Keep us posted on your progress, hope you don’t give up blogging.

    Steve

  3. Karen B. says:

    Hey, go you!

    Did you know that my current job is in an office that provides educational advising for all 26 UW System campuses? I bet you didn’t. You are so right that the grades are important for transferring.

    There’s also this handy online tool for transfer planning, the Transfer Information System. It can show you how various classes at various schools (including technical colleges) will transfer to the different UW campuses. Pretty cool.

    http://www.uwsa.edu/tis/

  4. Mada says:

    Karen, I didn’t know that, but it doesn’t surprise me that you’re one of those crazy women!

    I’ll be sure to look at that tool!

  5. Mada says:

    Steve, I have no intention of not blogging. I know time will be an issue, but I’ll squeeze something in! Don’t be surprised if going to school while raising a toddler becomes a frequent topic!

Leave a Reply

