What Happened to News Shows?

It used to be that you could turn on any news station and see the news.  I understand their need to keep things fresh, but can’t help but wonder if they’ve gone too far.

Lately, I’ve become so unimpressed with the lack of professionalism on some local morning news shows that I find myself agitated, sometimes to the point of voicing my feelings to the TV.  One local weather man is a wonderful guy when he’s not on the air, but once he’s on air, it’s as though he loses the ability to make an intelligent comment.  The lead anchor on another network doesn’t like sausage pizza and stated on air that he would have preferred if they had cooked a different one first this morning.  My morning is so much better for knowing that!  (What in the world were they doing having pizza at 6:30am??)

Last night, I turned on one of the cable networks hoping to see what was going on in the world.  The banter between the “hosts” rivaled the oh-so-intelligent commentary you would get from watching TMZ.  I tried to sit through the “halftime report” for about 15 minutes before giving up.  All of the other networks had on hosted shows dealing with whatever topic, so I turned off the TV and went to bed.  Luckily, there was nothing earth-shattering going on in the middle of the night.

I remember being a little girl and waking up to the sounds of Headline News drifting into my room from the living room.  Dad got up earlier than should be permitted by law and always watched the news.  It seems as though those days are gone.  America has been dumbed down to a level that frightens me!

This entry was posted in Ranting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

