Means to an End

That’s all my current job is and all any job I have for the next few years needs to be.  Today, I officially became a college student.  This means that there is an end to the dead-end job tunnel.  Someday, I will have a degree and a better job.

I’m still undecided about what I will major in or where my road is going, but we’re traveling!  I thought it was interesting that my adviser pushed for me to enroll in Intro to Psychology.  She said she thinks it would be a great course for me and that there are many higher level courses she thinks I will enjoy in the psychology field.  I have recently looked at this as a possible major.

After our discussion, I did some more research on possible career matches for a psychology degree.  One area that slapped me in the face was Autism research.  I have no clue why, but I have been obsessed with Autism for about a year now.  I’m blessed that my daughter is perfectly healthy and don’t have much experience with this exploding condition, so it’s been confusing to me.  Perhaps I’m reading too much into this, but perhaps pieces to my life puzzle have slowly been appearing.  I’ve rolled my eyes when I’ve heard people say they were called to do something, but now I have to wonder.  For now, I will continue absorbing information like a sponge rather than put on blinders and say this is it.

Now that the pieces are falling into place, I’m chomping at the bit.  I want school to start NOW!  For now, I’ll settle for the fact that every day I wake up dreading work, I can remind myself that this is not my forever job.  The time is coming when I love what I do and feel I’m contributing to the world.

This entry was posted in College with a family, Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Means to an End

  1. Thanks for commenting on blog, really appreciate the feedback.

    Going to college, or in Australia, it’s usually called University, is definitely something I want to do. Probably Arts in History of English and then eventually studies to become a Librarian but it kind of makes you worldly.

    And sure to provide excellent fodder for writing.

  2. I went to university (as it’s also called in Canada) and college (technical schools) several times before I finally landed in accounting, which isn’t really something that a person esteems to be when they grow up. Sometimes, a job is great for providing for yourself and your family and it’s just something that has to be done, and sometimes, it’s something more. Accounting was something that had to be done, and luckily, was very good at. Writing, for me, is something more, and it took me a long time to find it.

    I hope you’ve found or will find your something more. 🙂

  3. Mada says:

    Thanks for the comment, Laurie! I used not knowing what my “something more” was as an excuse for many years.

Leave a Reply

