From Hater to Addict

Looking back on my attitude towards certain foods, I feel like the girl in the Pediasure commercial.  If you’ve not seen it, there is a mother and daughter walking through the grocery store and the little girl says she doesn’t like _______ as her mom picks up that item.  The worst is, “I don’t think I like waffles” in a snotty tone.  I worried I would wind up with a child like that and have to resist the urge to smack her.  Okay, I wouldn’t really smack her, but parents understand what I mean, I hope.  Tonight, I realized I’m the one who is like the little girl.  I won’t try many new things unless one of my few “trusted people” tells me to try it.  I may love it, but I freak about even trying it.

For most of my life, I haven’t liked tea.  I only tried it a couple of times and didn’t care for it.  My good friend, Heidi, told me to try Bigelow or Stash, just once.  Since she is on the trusted list, I bought some Bigelow Vanilla Chai.  Not bad, but not my favorite.  The next time I went to the store, I bought a box of Stash Lemon Blossom.  It was much better!  And that cup was all it took to get me addicted.  Next, I bought a sampler pack.  Each night, I have been trying a new tea, including ones that sound like I won’t like them because I don’t know how one of the components tastes.  I have yet to find one that I don’t like!

I’m truly grateful to Heidi for her tea wisdom.  I feel a summer cold coming on and a cup of Lemon Blossom is just what the doctor ordered!

Any tea drinkers out there want to recommend something for me to try?

This entry was posted in Finding Heather. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to From Hater to Addict

  1. danielle says:

    I always thought green tea was an awful, icky thing. I can’t remember who convinced me to try it, but I finally did, and I can’t imagine going back to regular black tea. I’ve found a couple of brands that have a honey-lemon green tea, and that’s definitely a favourite, especially if I’m starting to feel sickly.

  2. Mada says:

    Hmmm, I may have to try that! I’m still in the “green tea is icky” boat, but I may be willing to give it another whirl. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

