Blogging and comments

When I blog, it’s mostly mindless chatter from mommy world or things that I find interesting.  If I post something that could potentially get heated, I’m willing to take the heat in the comments as long as it doesn’t disintegrate to personal attacks.  You can tell me that you don’t agree with my views, but I would not approve comments that attack me as a person.

For example, my post from yesterday about the 12 year old who shot the 9 year old with a BB gun could draw criticism.  If I received a comment from someone who is adamantly against guns and feels they should be banned, I would approve it.  Communication is vital to life and I think that discussion, even when heated, can be a learning experience.

I will never understand people who moderate their comments and don’t approve any that disagree with them.  Further, I have an issue when someone will make statements blasting an idea and refuse to post comments that not only disagree with them but point out facts to show where they are wrong.  I understand that each person’s blog is theirs to do with as they please, it just seems counterproductive to me.

One thing my dad taught me is  to do what you need to make sure you know what you’re talking about.  If you’re unsure, look it up.  If someone can point out that you’re wrong and tell you where you are wrong, look at the information and decide how to proceed.  I hope that as I get older, I keep that lesson in my mind and stay open to other view points.

This entry was posted in Ranting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment